Compact Framework Support

Topics: Developer Forum
Jan 5, 2007 at 11:41 AM
Hi, I am a Mobile Developer and am very interested in a NUnit Test Framework that supports Compact Framework 2.

History - I have tried cross compiling both the CSUnit and the NUnit projects - but they both use features which are not supported by CF.

I have just tried cross compiling your NUnitLite code under CF2 and was surprised that I had a few problems with Change Set: 11989:

Type.EmptyTypes - not supported
Type.GetTypeArray(args) - not supported
ConstructorInfo ctor = GetConstructor( type, argTypes ) - not supported
ctor.Invoke(args) - not supported
Environment.NewLine - not supported (all over the code)

I have put temporary fixes in, but have not yet successfully run a test on a Mobile 5 device - probably hours away.

I would be very interested in developing a Visual Interface (Runner) to NUnitLite that works on Phone / Pocket PC different screen configs etc. I like the way CSUnit looks (reports problems within tree itself). I think its important that a Red - Green tester interface exists.

I presume that CF is still a target? Do you need a Mobile Tester?

Jan 5, 2007 at 3:41 PM
ok, after some testing the biggest problem with CF2 version is in the Reflect.cs class, construct function:

public static object Construct(Type type, params object[] args)
{
Type[] argTypes;

if (args == null)
{
args = new object0;
argTypes = Type.EmptyTypes;
}
else
{
argTypes = Type.GetTypeArray(args);
}

ConstructorInfo ctor = GetConstructor(type, argTypes);
return ctor.Invoke(args);
}

The expressions:
Type.EmptyTypes;
Type.GetTypeArray(args);

are not valid for CF2, I guess I could replace Type.EmptyTypes with new Type0. but what to replace GetTypeArray with is the problem. Type does support GetType, but expects you to tell it what type to get!

Any Solutions?
Jan 8, 2007 at 2:57 PM
OK I have the following solution as suggested by:
http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=737835&SiteID=1